top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturelittle house on a little land

Modern Baby Boy nursery

The day we found out baby number 2 was a boy, I started planning his nursery. I think that’s one of my favorite things about prepping to bring a new baby home. For me, it helps me imagine them a part of our family and envisioning all the memories we will make as a family. When designing a space, my inspiration typically comes from something I see and fall in love with. That can be a photo on Instagram, a color palette on Pinterest or even something as silly as a paint swatch. When it came to designing my daughters room it was a group of muted rainbow paint swatches that got my brain unraveling. This time around, it was @neatly.living entry way table.

I have been obsessed with it since the first time I saw it. I was inspired but I always like to throw my own twist on things so they feel more personal.


I typically have one big wow factor in each room I design and then I design the rest of the room making sure every touch compliments the main focus of the room. I start most of my spaces on the app called Morpholio Board. Here is the design board I created using Morpholio board for his nursery:

I love doing this as a first step because it helps me envision what the room will look like and it’s a way to make sure the colors coordinate and are balanced out. I’m calling the style of his room “modern monochromatic boho” and using animals and greenery to help soften it up so it feel like a nursery.


For this project you will need:

  • 30 1”x2” primed MDF boards

  • 8 1”x2” red oak boards

  • a measuring tape

  • a pencil

  • a miter saw

  • an 18 gauge nail gun

  • an air compressor

  • 18 gauge 1.75” nails

  • liquid nails

  • nail filler

  • wood filler

  • stain of your choice

  • your choice of paints

  • painters paper

  • small 4” paint roller

  • 4” rollers for each color of paint (5)

  • sand paper

  • ladder

  • level

I started with the accent wall because that was my “wow” factor. I had a lot of left over MDF 1x2 slats from my daughters accent wall so all I had to purchase for this project was 8 red oak 1x2 boards from Home Depot. I started by measuring the wall to from the ceiling to the top of the baseboards. then I laid the boards out in the garage on the floor to see where I would want the wood angle to hit. I used scrap pieces of MDF 1x2s to help me space everything out evenly so I could get the angle correct. I cut the board on a 10 degree angle.


Once I had everything cut, I painted and stained each piece. This took about 3 coats of Sherwin Williams Iron Ore and I used a custom stain that matches our Cairo Oak LVP flooring from Coretec. My favorite part of this project was securing the pieces to the wall as you can see here. I used liquid nails, my 18G nail gun, a level and a piece of scrap MDF 1x2 to use as a spacer.




551 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page